Universities and Colleges Admissions Service


UCAS is the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service, as well as being the online service that students use to apply for a place at university. It has information and advice on what and where to study, the application process, student finance, careers information and lots more.


To search for degree subjects and universities click on this link:

How to write a personal statement

Click on the link below to see advice from UCAS on how to write a personal statement.

UCAS Tariff Points

UCAS Tariff points translate your qualifications and grades into a numerical value. Many qualifications (but not all) have a UCAS Tariff value, which will vary dependent on the qualification size, and the grade you achieved.


UCAS tariff points are used by around a third of universities when making conditional offers. Instead of asking for grades, a university may express the offer as 112 points. However, not all universities use tariff points and two thirds still ask for particular grades ie. AAB/BBB/BBC etc.

UCAS Tariff Table


A* = 56

A = 48

B = 40

C = 32

D = 24


A =20

B = 16

C = 12

D = 10

E = 6


Distinction* = 168

Distinction = 144

Merit = 120

Pass (C+) = 96

Pass (D/E) = 72

BTEC LEVEL 3 (National Extended Diploma)

Distinction * = 56

Distinction = 48

Merit = 32

Pass = 16

* BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma has 3 overall grades 

For further information on UCAS Tariff points click on the link below: